Magnifying Glass Macro Photography

I’m still waiting for my macro tube to arrive in the mail, no doubt its buried in a snowbank somewhere, so when I saw a tip about using a magnifying glass to shoot macro I thought ‘why not?’

It went okay, with interesting results.  First off, it was difficult to manage because I had to hold the magnifying glass, plus my camera, and then somehow manage to make adjustments on my camera.  I ended up sticking my magnifying glass into snowbanks to hold them up, while vowing to unearth my gorillapod and try again later.

Also, I don’t actually own a real magnifying glass, I only have Cake’s simple one.  It has crayon marks on it that I couldn’t get off with glass cleaner.

Here’s some of the better ones I got, and at the moment all unedited.  Taken at a 5.6 and either 1/400 or 1/500.

IMG_7004IMG_7006 IMG_7007 IMG_7008Nothing here is fantastical by any means, and perhaps with a real magnifying glass I will be able to get better results.  But, since I’m assuming Canada Post will be sauntering up to my door any minute…wait for it…no?…damn…with my macro extension tube I’m not going to rush out and try to locate a real magnifying glass.

Hugs,

Jenn

Leave a comment