Pointless Negativity and Emotional Intensity

These are the words that have been on my mind this week: Pointless Negativity, Emotional Intensity, and Overcoming Anxiety; mostly all related to Cake. She feels so strongly and sometimes it just gets so hard for me to understand what is going on in her head. I’m feeling anxious myself about what the summer is going to be like for us, with her having such a hard time controlling her emotions and manipulating her negative feelings into positive outcomes. After a very rough evening last night, after contemplating running away for a night by myself, I consulted her teacher and the internet and purchased a few books to help guide me through this, whatever this is.

I am going to make up an emotions thermometer, as suggested by a few of my favourite gifted websites. This will hopefully be a way for Cake to communicate with us about how she is feeling and what she would like to do about it.

Something I haven’t figured out is how to talk to her about following through with her responsibilities. She admitted that she doesn’t do hers because she just can’t be bothered, which isn’t healthy. I’m not sure how I’m going to be able to convince her that having small responsibilities now will help her once she’s a grown up. I don’t want her to be a person who doesn’t know how to keep her own apartment clean and be the bane of existence for future room mates!!
Anyway, I’ve ordered books, hopefully Amazon will get them to me soon and I will gain some insight.

Aside from all of the emotions we’ve been dealing with, we have been having fun too. Swimming in the pool, and we rode bikes together for the first time. I got up on a bike for the first time in a very LONG time and we biked all the way from our house to a park that’s halfway to school, then after playing we biked all the way back.

Tomorrow is a pd day from school, so I’m going to take Nay to the store so that he can get a bike lock, and I’ll get a helmet. Then we can bike to school together! I’ll still have to drive home, since we need to get home for Caitlyn, but I think it’ll be a fun way to start the day for us both. WELL I’ll be three hours into my day by the time we get to school, but whatever!

There’s only two weeks of school left and I have lots to do before the kids start summer break. Lots of tidying up, lots of sorting ,and organizing, and planning. Aside from the weekly plan, I’d like to break it down even further, I think the structure will help Cake immensely. I also think I’ll reduce the daily screen time allotment to 45 minutes instead of 60. Especially now that we’re bike riding, I think we can go out a bit more. I hope…

Leave a comment