Trying Something New

My books for Cake arrived, I’ve started reading them and making lists and notes to help, but it will be an ongoing project I think.
I haven’t put up the emotions thermometer yet, but as a family we sat down and came up with some family rules. Having some rules will help Cake to feel like her life is more predictable, and know what is expected of her. I’m going to make the rules into some artwork and then next week pickup a frame for it so that it can be nicely displayed somewhere.
I finished reading The Happiness Project book, and now I’m going to review my notes and come up with some resolutions for myself. I’m reading Smart but Scattered to help me with Cake, Brisigner just for entertainment, and also How to Train Your Dragon Book 1 for Nay. Nay asked me to assign him a novel study, so I chose a book he already owned and had read (though not for quite some time.) He can’t verbalize it but I think he’s really craving some brain stimulation. I found some good questions on the internet that teachers have used for his novel study, as wall as some activities to help review some of the main themes of the book.I have to admit that I’m not devastated at having to read the book myself, it’s a pretty funny story! I’m reading a book with Cake too, The Long Winter by Laura Ingals Wilder.

Aside from all the reading I’m doing, I have also decided to TRY SOMETHING. One of the big themes in all my notes from reading The Happiness Project was that you need growth, you need to try things and find happiness in failure. Well, I’m not good at trying new things, in fact if I really think about it the last time I tried something new I was becoming a mom. So…yeah, I’m overdue. So my BIG ‘try something’ idea is that I would like to try starting  a Kids Sports Photography business. I did some research, and thought while I walked with Holly around our neighbourhood. There’s an abundance of family/baby/wedding photographers out there, but there’s NOT a lot of kids sport photographers out there. This is something different, that could be pretty cool? Imagine having a badass photo of your kid hanging up instead or accompanying their school posed photo. So, after all the reading, I decided I better go out and see if I could actually TAKE some decent kids sports photos. I’m going to bring my camera to the kids soccer game tonight, but I also decided to attend the school board track meet to see how I could do.

This is just a small selection of the photos I took. I probably got about 150, and of those about 45 were good. I am so glad I did this though because I discovered I needed a bigger memory card, and I need to buy a second battery. I was worried for the last hour that my battery was going to kick it any moment and that I would miss out on something great. Next I’ll need to practice finishing the photos up and then of course trying to figure out how to get people to hire me…but I’ll worry about that part after. I’m excited and nervous to be doing a NEW THING, and if it fails then at least I’ll have the opportunity to find the happiness in failure.

Leave a comment