Deep Breath

Take a deep breath, that will be be some good advice for me to follow and give throughout the summer weeks I think. There’s one week left, one week of making my own schedule (sort of) before I devout myself to the kids full time. Sigh, I’m happy but also nervous.

This last weekend before school ends I’m off to go shopping with Robynn, not for anything in particular, just to have a getaway. Shawn will be on his own with the kids and needs to remember to bring Nay to a birthday party. I’m confident in his abilities to keep everyone happy and accounted for, even my Holly. HaHa!

Last Saturday Nay had his final art show at the Nepean Visual Arts Centre, which was wonderful as always. He says that next year he would like to join Cake in the pottery class, we’ll see what’s available before we commit though. Cake has big plans for next year, so who knows what our availability will be.

Other than the crazy heat this past weekend, the other big news is the fire that happened a few houses up from us. We were in bed, and I was woken up by the sirens. We live near a fire station so hearing sirens in the middle of the night isn’t all that weird, but these seemed awfully close. I roused Shawn when I started to hear the noises outside, thinking there were burglars about! Turns out it was Firemen bringing the hoses down to the hydrant! The house was vacant, thankfully, we stayed and watched the flames for a few minutes before going back into bed. In the morning when I drove by on my way to bring Nay to school the whole roof was gone! I commented that fires in our neighbourhood seemed to be a yearly event these past few years. Not a good sign for all the rentals around here, for sure!

I haven’t been writing much this week in my journal, just haven’t really felt like anything was worth recording I guess. I need to figure out what my inspiration is, and hopefully that will help with the dry spell I’ve been experiencing.

Leave a comment